B is for Steve Berry

B is for Steve Berry.

 

As you know, this challenge I’m going through my own, personal bookcases, looking to see if I have an author for every letter of the alphabet. Today being ‘B’ day was a bit harder to decide on one author. Do I look at the Bronte sisters? Dan Brown? Do I look at authors who I’ve only got one book for? Then I stumbled upon the section of the bookcases, where my children keep the books that don’t fit in their rooms and I found Steve Berry books on my sons shelf.

Steve Berry writes action and adventure tales that are full of chases, gun fights and betrayals. Not the stuff I would normally read at this point in my life, but definitely the type of stories I would have read when I was growing up, so I grabbed a couple of them off the shelf and settled them next to my bed to read.

Surprisingly to me, I found that I still enjoyed the action and adventure, the betrayals and the sneakiness. The movement in this books is quick, the character development is enough and the action is full on. Admittedly there is not much in the way of sub-plots or continuity between the books but Mr Berry doesn’t sell the books on the premise of convoluted sub-plots or developing multi-book story arks. He sells the books on the premise of a fast paced, action filled story and he delivers with each of them.

As an added bonus, these books are often, not always, but often based on myths and legends, and that core has led my son to explore history in a greater depth than I have ever been able to encourage him too. I must credit Steve Berry with engaging my teenage son with reading. My son was not an avid reader until a relative gave him a copy of a Steve Berry book for Christmas. On a long car trip home and the battery on his tablet being flat, he pulled the book out and started reading. My husband and I got about 5 hours of peace and quiet on that road trip, all of which I credit to Mr Berry. Since that first book, my son has gone on to be an avid reader. Okay, that avid reading is only in the same genre of action and adventure, but still, more time with books and less time with screens is always a win with teenagers.

Will I pull out his books and read them again? It would depend on my mood, but I would definitely turn to them when I need an adrenalin hit or when I needed to be pulled into a world where I could chase around the world, trying to save artefacts and discovering mysterious clues to long forgotten myths and legends. These are not overly thought provoking books but that is one of the things I really enjoyed. It was easy to be swept away and taken from my own troubles. At least in my world no one is trying to kill me all the time.

 

Leave a Reply

